Introducing the latest Zombie Bedtime Story: Bedlam #IndieBP

I have a very special project that I’d like to share with you. My most advanced work in progress is named Bedlam. It’s the fourth part of my bloody and unique Zombie Bedtime Stories. It’s been almost two years in the making, and it finally is making its debut on August 22, 2013. That’s in 3 days.

Let’s roll that cover:

Bedlam cover

Bedlam cover

The idea for Bedlam came to me when I was fleshing out the overall plotline of the Zombie Bedtime Stories. I didn’t just want to write a ton of random zombie shorts. I wanted a persistent, shared universe with recurring characters and a beginning, end and middle point. I mostly pants the stories, with unexpected (and hilarious) results. I know one or two things that have to happen, and I make the rest up as I go along. I’ve tried making outlines, but I ignore them because I’m a force of chaos.

Bedlam marks the end of the beginning. It’s the last story where a new character is introduced, and contains the last pieces of worldbuilding. Now, the stage has been set and we know (or have heard of) all the players. There are 8 total stories planned for ZBS, and a novel to finish it off. I’m hoping to have it all wrapped up sometime during 2015.

I always try give something of myself to my writing. In this case, Samantha was bullied mercilessly as a child, much like I was. We share a love of running, and both want to do what’s right. The story itself is as much about Samantha’s inner struggles and doubts as it is about the zombies. I wanted to put a human angle into a character in an inhuman, savage situation.

Now, for the blurb:

Corporal Samantha Henderson is a member of the Peacemakers—an organization devoted to putting down the riots that plague their nation’s cities. When what starts out as routine guard duty at an elementary school quickly turns bizarre and bloody, Samantha finds that her life is turned upside down.

Citizens have gone into a berserk killing frenzy, dismembering her comrades with ease. Samantha is the only soldier who makes it back to base alive. With her friends missing and only Captain Remus McIntyre for guidance, can Samantha survive the zombie apocalypse? More importantly, can she protect the weak from their enemies—human or otherwise?

Want more? I’ve got a first paragraph for you, too!

“I want my Mommy.” The girl clinging to Corporal Samantha Henderson’s hand choked back sobs, and looked up at her. She couldn’t be more than seven, and her pale blue eyes were bloodshot and brimming with tears. Samantha had been part of a squad assigned to evacuate this large inner city elementary school. She didn’t know if they were going to escape before the rioters closed in, but Samantha was determined to do her duty and get as many kids out as possible. The school was a decaying, squalid building—a leftover relic of the baby boom nearly a century before. The grey hallway dragged on ahead of them, only punctuated by the shadows of closed classroom doors and the occasional splash of children’s art projects. Samantha sucked in a deep breath as she enjoyed hearing the pounding of her boots on the cold granite floor. The echoes gave her the illusion of power and control, when in reality her stomach gnawed around the chill of uncertainty.

9 comments on “Introducing the latest Zombie Bedtime Story: Bedlam #IndieBP

  1. Yay!!! I am so super proud of you!!!! 🙂 How did I not know one of my fav peeps was participating in the Indie Block Party!!! woot woot! 🙂

  2. Maria Staal says:

    Your cover is absolutely great, Thea! Very moody. Personally I am not into the paranormal genre, but I do like the name of your series, Zombie Bedtime Stories. Great contradiction! 🙂
    Good luck with your releash. I hope you have lots of sales.

  3. Cathy Brockman says:

    I love your title and cover!

  4. Hi Thea, I love your book covers. They are so intriguing. I don’t usually read zombie stories, but now I am curious. Thanks for the intro.

  5. Very strong introduction. It feels like there are zombies hiding everywhere and that school seems to be the last place you would like to hide in.

  6. burnsmillie says:

    Oh holy crap! The momma in me is all stressed out! Please tell me she gets that little girl back to her mom.

  7. The beginning of the end. That almost sounds meta. That type of phrase or feeling I’m sure is what comes out around zombie or other potentially world ending outbreaks.

    How does it feel to have all your characters and worldbuilding in place? Is that helping your next works go any faster? I’m struggling so hard with working on world building, it feels like I have a blank canvas but instead of an array of colors I have only brown and yellow maybe, and one brush!

Leave a Reply

