Buccaneer Blogfest: Do Pirates and Social Media mix?

Of course they do! Social media is like the wide open sea–plenty to pillage, and even more to explore.

I love social media. I’ve met so many great, amazing friends on Twitter. I have no idea where I’d be without their patience, support and input. I wouldn’t have discovered CQ, or really been able to expand my horizons.

But, this is going to turn into a rant.

However, I do hate the spam. I’m infinitely more likely to buy a book of a person who bothers to talk to me, as opposed to the constant tweet spam I find in my news feed. I unfollowed the worst offenders a long time ago. I have a rule: if I memorize your tweets, you’re gone.

I never really got into Goodreads, their interface makes me swear and no link seems to take me to the same place twice. In theory it’s amazing, but I hate it.

I have a fan page on facebook, but for some reason other authors (ones I’ve never talked to or heard of!) all really, really want to be my friend-friend. No other form of networking will do. They probably do it so they can send my mom/family/friends book spam. Sorry buddies, my cat pictures are for people I know! Reader groups are fun, until the “you need to read my paranormal romance” comments come in.

Google+ looks like what my facebook would be if I friended authors. I go on, realize I’ve seen it all on Twitter, don’t care,  and leave for a few more months.

So… I love twitter. But as a whole, I admit that find a lot of what social media has become pretty annoying. I’m at the stage where I’m considering having a sacrifice account that gets all the follows and does the “nice” follow-back thing, allowing my real account to follow and converse with like-minded people.

Basically, we need to go privateer on those Tweetdeck loving spammers. A year ago, I found there was a lot more discourse, and the overall quality of content was bigger. Now it’s a flood of Triberr (another thing I’m starting to detest) and book links.

Where did the fun go? The connections? The friends?

I don’t think there’s an answer. There’s a ton of people out there who don’t get it. They never will get it. That’s alright, but I’m not following back.

9 comments on “Buccaneer Blogfest: Do Pirates and Social Media mix?

  1. I’m in the same boat with Facebook, I have an author page, but still get friend requests from authors. Sometimes I think over it, but usually I don’t friend authors unless it’s someone I’ve talked to regularly (sorry everyone) my personal Facebook is my private sphere.

    • nerdygnome says:

      I’ve noticed the older generation is more guilty of the “I demand to be in your private space!” attitude. Usually, if you have the opportunity to explain it to someone younger, they’ll understand.

      In one instance, after I told facebook to block their friend requests someone demanded I friend them because they couldn’t see the option anymore. Apparently “privacy” is meaningless in the face of “networking.” What kind of networking? We didn’t even write in the same genres or target the same demographics! Just… “networking.”

      You let one author in, and you get a deluge of mutual friends. Sadly, I can’t make my Facebook privacy settings any stronger. 😦

  2. Good rant! Care to tell me what a “tweetdeck loving spammer” is? (pardon my ignorance) If I’m one of those, let me know. I’m not too old to change. 🙂

  3. Talynn Lynn says:

    See, this is what I mean by touring the media sphere. Those seeking a real connection are great. Spam on the other hand stinks, annoys and give social media a bad name!

  4. you need to read my paranormal romance!

    it has pirates. i swear.

Leave a Reply

