Why I started blogging.

It’s an interesting question. My initial logic for starting a blog in April 2011 was along the following lines:

Every piece of writing advice ever written says I need a blog, therefore I’ll get a blog! Yes, lemming-like, I know.

If you’re wondering about the name, nerdygnome, would be because I’m a nerd, and gnomes are pretty chill little guys. I’m a pretty chill girl who is on the short side, thus the name fit. At least I didn’t name it after pirates or vikings.

The general idea of this blog was just to post status updates, vent about edits making me hate myself and showing off fancy covers. Also, the bragging. So much the bragging. There really isn’t a plan to the thing at all, I just write about my zombies, sci fi and other important things.

I think my critical failing is that I don’t really have an end-game plan for this blog. That’s part of the reason to join the Buccaneer Blogfest–the guided prompts help me think of what I really could be doing with this blog, and opens my eyes to more possibilities. Some of the prompts are pure genius, like character interviews and light bulb moments.

9 comments on “Why I started blogging.

  1. I don’t really have an end game plan for my blog, but Zombies are fun, hey they can be an end game all by themselves right?

  2. jamieayres says:

    I struggle with having an end game and a theme for my blog, too. I tried to create a schedule this year so I’d blog about the same topic the first Wed of the month, then so on and so on for each week, repeating every month–but I haven’t kept that up. I guess at some point my blog will need to be geared more towards teens than writers when my first novel comes out later this year, but the question is, how do I get those teens to my site? LOL. Hopefully I”ll gain some insight from this blogfest:-)

  3. Not a lemming at all. That’s why I started mine as well!

  4. Shell Flower says:

    I can totally relate to the “end game struggle”, but I end up having so much fun blogging that I don’t really care. I started my blog for the same reason, yeah, total lemming here. Did you know that Rudolf Steiner thought that gnomes can be bad? Good, but also there are bad ones. You are a good gnome. They are of the mineral realm. Are you?

  5. Aldrea Alien says:

    Hey, I have no end plan for my blog either. As long as I’m enjoying being around, then I plan to stay.

  6. I am right there with you on the blogging end game goal. I want to have an end game, but I really struggle with it. I think many blogger/writers start off this way. I am a new follower from the Buccaneer Blogfest and am glad to be here.

  7. Talynn says:

    Your interview with Gwen has now given me a new interest in Zombies.
    Great job over there~

  8. I struggle with a theme and cohesion to my blog as well. Oh well, having fun with it anyway and I know it’s done me good. Thanks for the awesome interview yesterday, Thea. It was really fun:)

Leave a Reply

