The Buccaneer Blogfest!

Image

I love pirates. Space pirates, sea pirates, awesome pirates, ass pirates. I’m not going to elaborate on what exactly an ass pirate is, but it’s a pirate so it’s all good. Thus, when presented with singular opportunity to become a blogging buccaneer, I said “arrr” a few times and signed up. I am far too immature for this, and should stick to zombies, obviously. Until the viking blogfest rolls into town (hint, hint).

Now, a bit about me.

I’m a lifelong nerd, and a lover of science (I’m finishing off a physics degree), I enjoy (good) science fiction, fantasy, horror and for some reason find most thrillers unspeakably boring. Unless a movie falls into the “so bad it’s awesome” category, I probably don’t care to watch it (I do dig anything with a feminist/historical/civil rights bent, though.) I’m really not a TV person in general. Notable exceptions: Star Trek, Doctor Who and recently Dexter. I liked Rome too, because Rome is/was awesome. I’m also a crazy chef, love making preserves from my vegetable garden and crochet is the best in winter.

I live with my awesome but extremely talkative boyfriend, my two cats (Pip + Bonk) and his two cats (Zeus + Milo). I like frogs. Music-wise, I enjoy metal. My favorite bands are: KMFDM, The Birthday Massacre, Rammstein and in my geekier moments I love Rhapsody of Fire. I also like the sub genre called Viking Metal for reasons relating to awesomeness and men in war paint.

As for my blog, it’s mostly my place to write about my writing. I post about my video reviews, progress on my WIPs and other various good news that comes my way. If I release something, I post a first chapter, and a cover reveal. This blog has been a little neglected lately, but I’m hoping to breathe some new life into it.

You can find all my various social medial links on my Contact page.

Sadly, because I’m on WordPress, I can’t post the linky code, but rest assured, you can reach the rest of the blog hop by visiting Sharon Bayliss and her sweet blog.

34 comments on “The Buccaneer Blogfest!

  1. Nice to meet you, Thea. I found your blog via the blogfest.

    I love Dexter too. Have you seen all seasons (don’t want to spoil you), so excited for the new season to start this fall.

    • nerdygnome says:

      Hi Clare, nice to meet you too! I just finished the second season of Dexter this weekend, I’m thrilled that there’s so much more left for me. Their hooks are so well done, I just have to know what happens next.

  2. Shell Flower says:

    I totally love Dexter and Rome, too. I love your Nerdygnome name, as well. Glad I came across your blog. How is your 500 words per day goal going?

  3. Talynn says:

    Nice to learn a little more about you! What a great way to hold introductions:)
    I’m Talynn, and I’m sure you will be seeing more of me during this blogfest!
    Can’t wait to learn more.

  4. Hi Thea,
    If you’re going to have TV exceptions, Doctor Who is a must! Great to meet you, and I’m looking forward to learning more during the blogfest.
    I have the same wordpress/linky dilemma. It’s not a huge problem, but it tends to annoy me. :/

    • nerdygnome says:

      It’s probably the only issue I really have with WordPress, but for those few blog hops I do, it’s annoying. Looking forward to getting to know you more, too. πŸ™‚

  5. Physics? Man, I couldn’t even pass chemistry (and that was with an extra tutor). Following you. πŸ™‚

    http://anallegedauthor.blogspot.com/

  6. A physics student? Impressive! (My coauthor is doing his particle physics PhD right now).

  7. Ben says:

    You know, I signed up for this blog not sure what to expect. I didn’t know if I would find any new blogs to follow, but I figured “Hey, what the heck?” And then I saw your post about Viking Metal. Suffice to say, I am now following your blog.

    • nerdygnome says:

      If there is one thing I love, it’s vikings. I discovered the genre when a friend sent me Boney M’s Rasputin. It was awesome, so I clicked on the Turisas version. I went to Paganfest 2008 soon after, and the rest is history.

  8. Greetings, Thea! I’ve seen a few of your book reviews YouTube, they be interesting. Look forward to seeing what you have to tell us during the tour.

  9. Jade Hart says:

    Love the title of your blog πŸ™‚
    And I love frogs too πŸ™‚ Sure we’re gonna get along great πŸ™‚ And did I mention I love dexter? See – lots in common πŸ™‚

  10. Hi! Very nice to meet you! I am a fellow buccaneer πŸ™‚ I find so many clicks in what you write πŸ™‚ I really look forward to getting to know you through this blog fest!

  11. Michelle says:

    *Waves* Hi Thea! Looking forward to bloghopping with you. πŸ™‚

  12. Hi Thea! It’s great to get to know more about you. I like you already. Dexter is awesome.

  13. RAMMSTEIN! RAMMSTEIN! WHOO! Nice to meet you through this bloghop πŸ˜€ Yay pirates. I won’t dare inquire what an ass pirate is.

  14. Marisa Cleveland says:

    Yippee, I’m on wordpress too and couldn’t post the linky thing. πŸ™‚ At least I’m not alone. Great reading about you, your boyfriend, your love of frogs, etc… πŸ™‚

  15. jamieayres says:

    Love frogs, too! Good thing b/c they think our house is their hotel, lol. They are like another pet for my kids. I’m on wordpress too . . . wish I could switch but I feel like I’ve worked too hard to build it to change now! Looking forward to hearing more from you during the blogfest, matey!

  16. Your blog is neat..just like you! Pip and Bonk, those names made me smile. I loveee cats! I wish I had your passion for cooking…sigh. Glad you decided to do the blogfest, now it is officially a party with ass pirates ..BAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!

  17. rxena77 says:

    Hi, Claire. Zombie Bedtime Stories, huh? You might like my blog: its header is the art depicting my Victorian ghoul heroine, Alice Wentworth, and her gypsy love, Victor Standish, in the French Quarter. My END OF DAYS is told through her eyes. Think of it as a kick-butt Jane Eyre! LOL.

    The ghost of Jean Lafitte filled in for me on my intro! Good to have friends in low places! Roland

  18. Love it when there’s a Dr. Who marathon going:) You didn’t mention if all your cats got along? I had one cat for 19 years and he was quite the badass. I’m interviewing you for Friday’s post. Did you get the email I sent?

    • nerdygnome says:

      I got it, I was going to write up my answers tonight. It’s a busy week so far. πŸ™‚

      My cats mostly get along, but when they don’t it’s world war 3. Most of them are 8 years old and fairly chill.

  19. Jessa Russo says:

    You had me at ass pirates. Honestly. My eyes widened and I thought, YES. I LOVE HER.

    Did I need to know anything else about you after that awesomeness? Doubtful. πŸ™‚

  20. Hi Thea, love your sense of humor. Looking forward to getting to know you and your writing better. My daughter Nicki loves Zombies, and plays a lot of Left for Dead. We both enjoy the occasional zombie movie, Shaun of the Dead, Fido, and Zombieland are recent favorites.

Leave a Reply

