Zombie Bedtime Stories, a one year anniversary perspective

It’s been a year since I unleashed the first Zombie Bedtime Story, Locked In. Two pseudo-sequels and a few hundred sales later, I find myself reflecting on my first foray into the world of fiction. Hindsight is 20/20, and I must say it looks damn good from where I’m sitting.

What’s upcoming for the next year? Part four, Bedlam, will herald the end of the initial series setup, and part five, Succor, will be the first true sequel. I hope to further my examination of the feelings of loss, hopelessness and the indomitable human will to survive. Themes taken from my own life, topics that resonate very close to home for me.

Did I mention I have twelve to fourteen installations planned? It’s not for the faint of heart.

Would I do anything differently? I’d probably read fewer writing blogs, and ignore most of the “how to be the best spam bot ever” social media advice that plagues the writing community. If there’s one thing I’ve learned through all this, it’s all about the real connection to your friends (readers). You can’t get that through Tweetdeck. You get that one smilie face and exchange at a time. There are real, wonderful people out there in the world, and looking at them as potential marks is the wrong way to go about it. Take the longer road, say nice things to strangers and just write. Then, write some more, and for the sake of all of us, edit.

Year two… engage.

 

3 comments on “Zombie Bedtime Stories, a one year anniversary perspective

  1. Pure awesome, Thea. Congrats!

    ps: now finish Bedlam already! Some of us are waiting. 🙂

  2. Red Tash says:

    Well said, lady!

  3. Your writing has evolved in leaps and bounds in only a single year. What of the next year? and the future? You’ve done your big bang, and your career will be ever expanding from this point forward.

    “Engage” is right on!

Leave a Reply

