NaNoWriMo’s month of insanity begins, and Review Goodness!

Now that the Coffin Hop is over and I’m mostly healthy (mostly, somehow I managed to pull a ligament in my chest. It makes breathing hurt, but at least the pneumonia is all gone) so it’s time to punish myself some more with NaNoWriMo! I am fairly convinced at this point that NaNoWriMo is the best thing ever, although I am sure to revise that sentiment as soon as writer’s block rears its ugly head.

I have a single tip that I have learned in my short time as an author. If you can’t stop, but have writer’s block, start describing something. Anything. Even if it’s during dialogue. Eventually, you’ll write yourself out of the block, because your world has grown to the point where your character knows where to go. It ups your word count, and helps you talk your way out of a nasty corner.

This may be why I am consistently complimented on my descriptions and attention to detail. Readers like it, I think. Maybe? I like juicy world details. Right now I’m writing science fiction, so I just think of my descriptions as “space gore.”

Day 1 total: 2020 words. It took me about four hours, including research on SPACE STUFF. I love space. For a while I was considering applying to do physics graduate studies in experimental astrophysics. I suppose there are other ways to follow that passion for discovery and the unknown.

In the past few days, I’ve received several great reviews of Zombie Bedtime Stories, Locked In and Locked Out. Here’s a rundown:

Confessions of a Psychotic Housewife was good enough to post reviews on both Locked In and Locked Out.

DoubleShot Reviews was kind enough to give Locked In a quad rating, and Locked Out a triple in an epic double review.

And finally, I was a featured horror author for a cute interview by Bloody Bookish.

Or, not so finally, just as I was about to hit publish, I got word that I’ve been featured on Mercurial Musing’s website! Read Of Zombies And Apples with Thea Gregory, now. You’ll get my apple crisp recipe.

I’ve finally burned out all my news, for now. Stay tuned for more NaNoWriMo – inspired ramblings and good news.

4 comments on “NaNoWriMo’s month of insanity begins, and Review Goodness!

  1. AG says:

    Best of luck to you! It sounds like you’re off to an awesome start! Very inspiring – love your tips, will surely come in handy.

  2. I think Neovella has a place among nanowrimo in terms of helping alleviate writer’s block. What do you think?

    • nerdygnome says:

      I agree with this, Neovella adds a sense of urgency. After all, if you don’t write it, somebody else will! It’s a great way to let loose.

      My theory is that uncertainty and doubt are root causes of writer’s block and having to get over it and just write are important.

  3. Sounds like a busy and productive time for your writing. Those reviews are great. BTW – I copied your apple crisp recipe from the last one. 😀 I remember you made it last time I was visiting, and it was soooooooooooo tasty.

Leave a Reply

