Rolling along again – some new developments

Now that I’ve cleared a backlog of projects, and become considerably more underemployed, I’m free to resume work on what really matters: my writing.

I managed to crank out 800 words on my work in progress, Deadlocked, and I like how the universe is starting to feel. The pre-apocalypse world of Zombie Bedtime Stories is already grim, and each installment adds another shade of grey to the already dark atmosphere. I’ve decided to establish that the series takes place in the not-too-distant future. It begins in June 2035. I wanted technology to be a little more advanced to make some parts of Locked Out and future story arcs more plausible, and I wanted to examine what the world would be like if it were the worst of most worlds. Admittedly, today’s world is already a pretty grim place, but not the worst case scenario by any stretch of the imagination. We also don’t have zombies, which is probably for the best.

I’ve been playing with some horror/bizarre ideas that are not zombie-based. I’m pretty excited with them. I’m contemplating a run of stories that’s based on monsters dredged out of the depths of my subconscious. I want to write something that will make the reader question not only my sanity, but their own, as well.

Cheers, friends!

One comment on “Rolling along again – some new developments

  1. I remember you relating some of those dreams to me; they should make good fodder for a book of short stories. 😀

Leave a Reply

