Another day, another draft.

I put in about 7 hours today planning how to implement my mom’s suggestions and edits into my manuscript for Locked Out. Tomorrow I get to spend several more hours inputting it all, but I think the story is that much deeper and more enjoyable because of it.It’s also going to gain at least 1000 words, perhaps closer to 2000.

My struggle against writer’s block met with a small victory. I managed 300 words before burning out, completing the first chapter of Deadlocked. I hope I can feel more inspired tomorrow. Being behind on my arbitrary and made-up deadlines really gets on my nerves.

One thing I’ve noticed is that for every hour of writing, I spend about 3-4 hours editing. In addition to this, contrary to almost anything I’ve read is that I gain words when editing rather than paring a manuscript down. Maybe I’m just really bad at remembering what readers want to know? Locked In went from 4.1k to 6.2k, which is a huge gain.

I’m simultaneously fired and awesome, so that’s all for tonight.

Leave a Reply

