Inspiration = Walking?

Inspiration is a fickle thing. I can honestly say that I’ve never come across one starting point for an article of a story through simple brainstorming.

It strikes like lightning, then it’s time to go to the drawing board.

I had my idea for Locked In just walking (okay, pacing) around in my house. Locked Out was a similar situation, while writing Locked In. My novel ideas came to me on walks to the Metro station.

It seems walking is the only constant connection. Maybe my legs are connected to my brain. Or, more amusingly, maybe my muse has an issue with my pacing habit and wants me to stop.

Oddly, pacing seems to have no effect on writer’s block. But it sure feels good.

2 comments on “Inspiration = Walking?

  1. writingturtle says:

    I’ve tried walking to gain inspiration… unfortunately it hasn’t worked out for me. Or maybe it’s because I was watching my dog, trying to make sure he didn’t run off or anything into the street.

    • nerdygnome says:

      I’ve always been a pacer. If I was stuck on a math problem, I’d pace until I solve it. I find just walking with no real aim clears my mind. I don’t think I could watch a dog/kid/whatever and have the same quality of ideas.

Leave a Reply

