Twitter is way too much fun for something that’s supposed to be work.

I resisted getting a Twitter account for years. I just didn’t see the point.

I had no idea how easy it was to find people who like what you do, and connect with them. It is unbelievably cool. It seems like it’s a bit of a time-sink, but here’s what I’ve learned in a few short days of using it.

  1. Follow others. They may return the favor, or maybe their friends will. Having a new best friend is good!
  2. Check out things that are cool. Simply because they’re cool.
  3. Check out others who are tangential to the people you are following. There is infinite variety out there.

So basically, be friendly, check out the cool space photos from NASA and have fun.

In writing news: Locked Out is progressing nicely. The main character’s personality is really coming into focus, and I’m having fun with having a protagonist who spends the story alive (as opposed to undead/dead/zombified).I should be getting a Locked In critique tomorrow, draft 6. I’m hoping draft 7/8 will be close to final. I’ve already learned a lot about how to write fiction from the experience, so Locked Out is flowing better and will be a better story.

I’ve decided on which story to outline for NaNoWriMo. It’s going to be my “stuck in a waiting room somewhere” project. Outlining and character sketches are allowed, and I know I need to pump out shy of 1700 words per day to win. It’s going to be an attempt at hard sci-fi with a horror/thriller angle. It’s going to be good!

2 comments on “Twitter is way too much fun for something that’s supposed to be work.

  1. writingturtle says:

    I am exactly like what you were! I’m still adverse to a twitter account, is it really that good? I’m doing NaNoWriMo too, as I’m sure tons of other writers are. They’re doing one in July and I’m much too excited for it. I did it in November, and it actually wasn’t too bad (then again, my writing was horrendous), so good luck! Happy writing!

    • nerdygnome says:

      I’m having a lot of fun with it. It’s opened my eyes to a lot of new possibilities to what’s out there, and what people are talking about. I still don’t “get” a lot of it, but it’s a neat toy.

      I can’t do the July NaNoWriMo (too many plans and lots of work stuff going on), but I’m for sure in for November! I have no idea what to expect, other than a lot of work!

      Good luck and keep writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

