Business writing makes a good diversion

It’s kind of funny. The more I write reviews and fiction, the easier business communication becomes. I was able to spew out a fairly awesome cover letter for anonymously-obsessed-boyfriend today. He insists I could get paid for this stuff.

My theory on cover letters and business writing is that it should be engaging and fascinating. They exist to start a dialogue between yourself and your audience, much like reviewing or fiction. Why condemn your writing  to being rote and trite, even if it’s “just” for business? Professionalism does not negate creativity.

Feeling a little case of writer’s block coming on. A lot of it is my own self-doubt and uncertainty. Someday I’ll learn to cork that genie until editing time, when I need him.

In other news, I liked the Zombie Empress joke/identity so much that I’ve decided she needs her own blog, where she can post in-character ramblings. I have a few other ideas in store for her, as well. Check out The Rise of the Zombie Empress

Now, I have a review to write. It never ends.

Leave a Reply

