May’s short story rough draft complete.

I’m not bringing out the champagne just yet. More like a hacksaw. The first parts of the story illicit  a “who wrote this crap” reaction. The rest needs significant cleaning up, and I need to break my love affair with certain words.

I’m still in love with the concept as much as I was initially. Now that it’s all down on paper, I can start doing it real justice. I’m my own harshest critic, and I know that I can be a real monster.

I’m hoping I’ll be comfortable enough to put it out here for the world to see in the middle of May.I have a slight fear that I’ll pigeonhole myself into writing nothing but existential zombie stories forever. However, since I’m not exactly a traditionalist, I don’t give a damn about what anybody expects of me anymore. I’ve spent enough of my life worrying about shaping up to other people’s dreams. So I’ll write whatever lame genre fiction, nonfiction or literary prose I like, and everyone gets to like it!

I might have to hold off on starting the edits for a couple of days, because I have a giant consulting project to research and work on, with preliminary mind-maps due Monday.

Maybe the technological and creative pursuits give me a kind of balance and grounding. I can always turn one off and work on the other, if needed.

Maybe I’ll go play more Portal 2. I’m on chapter 7 and I really want to know what happens!

Leave a Reply

