My top 5 books #IndieBP

I heard a rumor that you want to know what my top 5 books are. As always, I’m very happy to oblige!

I’m going to take it from the top.

1. Dune (Frank Herbert)

Dune will always occupy the top spot on this list. I read Dune for the first time when I was 14. It changed my life. The complex universe, storyline, and beauty of omniscient storytelling sucked me in. I’ve read almost everything by Herbert, and I scour used book stores to find his out of print books. What an imagination!

2. Ender’s Game (Orson Scott Card)

Say what you will about Card, but Ender’s Game is amazing science fiction. It’s also a complete head trip. Technically, I enjoyed Ender’s Shadow more, but they’re the same book written from different character’s perspectives.

3. Crime and Punishment (Fyodor Dostoyevsky)

I’ve read this book three times since I was 13. Every time, the story becomes more elevant to my day-to-day life. The book is intense, and forces strong emotions from the reader. Dostoyevsky is a master of writing madness and humanity into his characters. He can drive you into a depression in a paragraph. There’s a reason I call the months I read him “Dostoyevsky Benders.”

I also tend to want to punch his characters in the face. Raskolnikov and the “Underground Man” are utterly insufferable.

4. Wizard’s First Rule (Terry Goodkind)

The first book of the Sword of Truth series blew me away. Neglecting the baggage of the rest of the series, it’s a great read.

5. The Silence of the Lambs (Thomas Harris)

The book is much better than the movie. Dark yet funny. Poignant and charming. It’s an experience. Hannibal (the sequel) would make my top 10, and it’s infinitely better than the movie as well.

6 comments on “My top 5 books #IndieBP

  1. Maria Staal says:

    I love ‘Crime and Punishment’ as well! The BBC did a great TV adaptation of it once.

  2. burnsmillie says:

    I actually found a copy of Wizard’s First Rule in the used bookstore that was autographed. Love that book! Dune and Silence of the Lamb as well are faves! Nice list.

  3. Interesting on Ender’s Game and Ender’s Shadow.. what makes you like the second one more? Just curious. You know the movie is going to be pulling from both, I’m really curious about how it’ll turn out.

    • nerdygnome says:

      I found the second book to be more immersive. In Ender’s Game, everything was mysterious and things just happened. Ender’s Shadow made the world much more real and fleshed out.

Leave a Reply

